Jan 21, 2021  
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog 
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Tuition, Fees & Financial Assistance

Tuition and Fees
Financial Assistance
Veterans Educational Benefits

Tuition and Fees

Specific tuition and costs can be viewed at http://falcon.tamucc.edu/~business/businessoffice_tuition_fees.htm.

Tuition and fees are pending approval and are subject to change.

Texas Residency

All students attending Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi who are non-residents of Texas will be charged additional tuition in accordance with State law. In general, students will be classified as Texas residents if they meet one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Any individual who has resided in Texas from birth.
  2. Any individual 18 years of age or over who has come from outside Texas and who is gainfully employed in Texas for a 12-month period immediately preceding registration in any institution of higher learning.

Additionally, there are certain other circumstances under which an individual may be classified as a Texas resident. Residency status will be established according to the interpretations by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board pursuant to Title 3, Texas Education Code. The Coordinating Board rules on determining residency status may be found at the following web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/Rules/tac3.cfm?Chapter_ID=21&SubChapter=X.

Although classified as a non-resident, a member of the armed services who is assigned to duty in Texas is privileged to register at the Texas resident fee rate. This includes immediate family members.

Under State law, certain other categories of students may be eligible for tuition and fees exemptions or adjustments. See the semester class schedule for more information.

The responsibility of registering under the proper residence is placed upon the student. If there is any possible question of legal residence, the student should confer with the Office of the University Registrar of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi and have such question settled prior to registration.

A non-Texas resident seeking to change residence status must fill out and submit to the Office of the University Registrar a Residency Status Questionnaire prior to registration.

Financial Obligations

Students are expected to pay all financial obligations to the University when due. Failure to pay such obligations may result in the student’s removal from the University, transcripts placed on hold, exclusion from final exams and graduation, and/or exclusion from further enrollment. Financial obligations include, but are not limited to, the following: returned checks; returned check charges; library fines, lost or damaged book charges, or replacement costs of long-overdue books; loss or breakage of instructional material or equipment; dormitory fees; installment payments; parking fines; and repayment of financial aid loans and emergency loans.

All tuition and fee costs are due upon registration, and failure to pay may result in the loss of the student’s schedule. Registration is not complete until the University Business Office has received payment and all necessary documentation has been completed. Regardless of the type of deferral, the ultimate financial responsibility rests with the student. There will be a late payment fee of $50.00 assessed for student’s who pay after the deadline established by the University Business Office. An additional fee of $100.00 will be collected for registration 2 reinstatement into classes lost after non-payment by the student. The University Business Office periodically performs audits on students’ accounts to verify that the proper amount of tuition and fees has been paid; this may result in additional charges or refunds.

Returned Checks

When students write checks to the University or submit payments online via Webcheck that are not honored by the bank, and are subsequently returned to the University, the individual who gave the check will be notified. Within seven days of such notification, the individual should pay the amount of the check plus a returned check charge of $25.00 to:

  Business Office
  Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
  6300 Ocean Drive Unit #5765
  Corpus Christi, Texas 78412-5765

This may be done in person or by mail and must be in the form of cash, money order, or cashier’s check. The University will not accept a personal check in payment of a returned check.

Should a returned check not be paid within the allotted time, the individual will be subject to disciplinary action, including removal from the University, legal action as prescribed by law and payment of all collection fees. If an individual has written three (3) checks to the University that have been returned unpaid by his or her banking institution for any reason, the University will no longer accept checks from that individual.

Returned checks written for SandDollar accounts will result in the account being inactivated until the check and the returned check charge are paid in full.

Refund of Tuition and Fees

A student officially and completely withdrawing from the University may apply for a refund of applicable tuition and fees according to the following scale:

  10 Weeks or Longer Term:
  100% prior to the University’s first official class day
  80% during the first five class days
  70% during the second five class days
  50% during the third five class days
  25% during the fourth five class days
  No refund thereafter
Less than 10 Weeks but Greater than 5 Weeks Term:
  100% prior to the University’s first official class day
  80% during the first three class days
  50% during the second three class days
  No refund during the seventh class day and thereafter
5 Weeks or Less Term:
  100% prior to the University’s first official class day
  80% during the first class day
  50% during the second class day
  No refund during the third class day and thereafter

For more information, contact the Business Office or go to http://falcon.tamucc.edu/~business/imp_dates_install.htm and click on Important Dates.

The process of withdrawing from the University begins in the Office of Admissions and Records.

A student dropping a course or courses yet remaining enrolled in the University in other courses may apply for a refund of applicable tuition and fees as follows:

  Ten Weeks or Longer Term:
  100% prior to and including 12th class day
  No refund after 12th class day
Less than Ten Weeks but Greater than Five Weeks Term:
  100% prior to and including 4th class day
  No refund after 4th class day
Five Week Summer Term:
  100% prior to and including 3rd class day
  No refund after 3rd class day
2½ Half Week Summer Term:
  100% prior to and including 2nd class day
  No refund after 2nd class day

For more information, contact the Business Office or go to http://falcon.tamucc.edu/~business/imp_dates_install.htm and click on Important Dates.

The days of classes are counted from the first official class day of the University each term, not the first meeting day of a particular class.

After an audit of all fees has been made, the refund process will begin. This process requires a reasonable length of time. No refunds are given on audited courses.

Students using the Installment Payment Plan who withdraw from the institution will have the refund, if any, calculated based on the total amount of tuition and fees due at the time of registration, not the amount of tuition and fees paid at the time of withdrawal.

Students with financial aid who withdraw may be subject to the federal refunding timetable and rates. Students should consult with the Financial Aid Office about their situation before withdrawing.


A refund will result when a credit balance remains on each student’s Business Office account after all charges are paid. A credit balance may occur due to overpayments, dropped courses, withdrawals or financial aid (loans, scholarships, grants, etc…). Refunds are issued to the students by a refund contractor, Higher One. A new student, upon registration, will receive in the mail, from Higher One, an account number along with refund preference instructions. Higher One will use the Billing Address on file with the University to send this correspondence to the student. It is important that this address is current. The account number, embossed on the Easy Refund Card (MasterCard Debit Card) is used to activate each student’s refund choice with Higher One. This is not a credit card, but an account for refund processing and will be needed for the entire time as a student, so it must not be thrown away. The account must be activated at https://corpuschristi.higheroneaccount.com and the student can then must choose the method that the refund will be delivered. The three options are: 1) Direct Deposit into a bank account of the choice, 2) Opening a Higher One Bank Account or 3) Paper Check. If the student does not activate the account, Higher One will not be able to process the refund. To replace a lost card there is a $25 replacement fee, the initial card that is sent free of charge.

New students will begin the process of receiving their Easy Refund Card upon registration. Once the student has registered then he or she will receive the card in 7 to 10 business days. If a student does not receive his or her Easy Refund Card they should go to https://corpuschristi.higheroneaccount.com and select Where’s My Card or contact the Business Office at (361) 825-2600.

Tuition Rebates for Certain Undergraduates

Certain undergraduate students who attempt no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete their degrees may be entitled up to a $1,000 tuition rebate after graduation.

To be eligible for rebates under this program, students must meet all of the following conditions:

  1. They must have enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the fall 1997 semester or later,
  2. They must be requesting a rebate for work related to a first baccalaureate degree received from this University,
  3. They must have been a resident of Texas, must have attempted all course work at a Texas public institution of higher education, and have been entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree, and
  4. They must have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which they were graduated. Hours attempted include transfer credits, course credit earned exclusively by examination, courses that are dropped after the official census date, for-credit developmental courses, optional internship and cooperative education courses, and repeated courses. Courses dropped for reasons that are determined by the institution to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.
  5. Beginning with students admitted for the first time in fall 2005, a student must also graduate in a timely manner to earn the tuition rebate. A student who wants to qualify to receive the rebate must graduate within four calendar years for a four-year degree or within five calendar years for a five-year degree if the program is determined by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to require more than four years to complete.

Students desiring to qualify for tuition rebates are responsible for complying with all rules related to the administration of the program. Students are responsible for enrolling only in courses that will qualify them for the rebates. A student who has transferred from another institution of higher education is responsible for providing the University with official transcripts from all institutions attended. Students must apply for rebates on the appropriate forms prior to receiving their baccalaureate degrees and must keep the University apprised of their addresses for a specified period following graduation.

The amount of tuition to be rebated to students under this program will be based on state guidelines. If a student entitled to a rebate has an outstanding balance owed to the University or to student loans, the University shall apply the amount of the rebate to the balances owed. If the amount of the rebate exceeds the amount of the indebtedness, the University shall pay the student the excess amount.

For more information on this program, contact the Business Office or the Office of the University Registrar or go to http://www.collegefortexans.com/cfbin/tofa2.cfm?ID=75.

Fees for Multiple Repeats of a Course

The State of Texas will not provide funds to state institutions of higher education for semester credit hours related to a course in which a student is enrolled for the third time. Therefore, as permitted by state law, the University will charge additional fees to a student who registers for a course for the third time or more. The fee will be $100 per semester credit hour for such courses. The courses counted toward the limitation include all hours attempted by the student except: Thesis, Dissertation, Individual Music Lessons, Theater Practicum, Music Performance, Ensembles, Studio Art, certain P.E. and Kinesiology courses, Independent Study (topic changes), Special Topics (topic changes), and Developmental Education (not to exceed 18 semester credit hours).

Tuition for Excessive Undergraduate Hours

The State of Texas will not provide funds to state institutions of higher education for excess semester credit hours earned by a resident undergraduate student. Therefore, as permitted by state law, the University will charge additional tuition to students who exceed the semester credit hour limit for their programs. The additional charge per semester credit hour may be billed to any student that meets these applicable rules (this fee can be viewed at http://falcon.tamucc.edu/~business/businessoffice_miscellaneous_fees.htm). The tuition rate will not exceed the rate charged to nonresident undergraduate students. Excess semester credit hours are those which accrue after the student exceeds by 30 hours the number of semester credit hours required for the completion of the degree program in which the student is enrolled. Thus, the student may accumulate up to 30 hours beyond those required for the chosen degree program and not exceed the limitation. The limitation on excess credit hours applies only to those undergraduate students who first enter higher education in fall 1999 or later. The semester credit hours counted toward the limitation includes all hours attempted by the student except:

  • semester credit hours earned by the student before receiving a baccalaureate degree that previously has been awarded to the student,
  • semester credit hours earned by the student by examination or under any other procedure by which credit is earned without registering for a course for which tuition is charged,
  • credit for a remedial education course, a technical course, a workforce education course funded according to contact hours, or another course that does not count toward a degree program at the institution, and
  • semester credit hours earned by the student at a private institution or an out-of-state institution.

Methods of Payment

The methods of payment that are accepted by the Business Office include cash, checks, credit/debit cards, installment payment plans and emergency loans. Installment payment plans and emergency loans are discussed below. For information on payment by check or credit/debit card, see the Business Office website at http://falcon.tamucc.edu/~business/businessoffice_meth_payments.htm or call (361) 825-2600.

Installment Payment Plan (Fall and Spring Only)

An installment payment plan is available to most students under the provisions of Section 54.007 of the Texas Education Code. The University offers two options to pay by installments: a three-payment plan (30% prior to the start of the semester with two more payments during the semester of 35%) and a four-payment plan (25% prior to the start of the semester with three more payments during the semester of 25%). Subsequent installment payments should be made directly to the Business Office. A nonrefundable processing fee of $20.00 will be charged and a late fee of $25.00 will be added to each installment not received by the due date.

Students utilizing the installment option must execute an electronic agreement which sets forth the conditions and repayment schedule of the payment plan selected. Under the provisions of the installment payment option in the law, a student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made. A student who fails to make payment prior to the end of the semester (last class day) may be denied credit for work done that semester.

Students who register for classes during WEB Registration and wish to use an Installment Payment Plan must sign up online though the SAIL website at http://sail.tamucc.edu/.

Emergency Loans

Short-term emergency loans are available to students who need assistance in covering tuition and fees and books. Funds are limited and will be provided on a first-come, first-served basis to eligible applicants. Information on eligibility requirements and the application process can be found on the Business Office website at falcon.tamucc.edu/~business/businessoffice_faq.htm . There is a non-refundable processing fee of $25.00 per loan. A late payment fee of $25 will be added to each loan that is not paid in full by the due date.


Click  here  for information on current tuition and fees.

Parking Fees

All students who park their vehicles on campus lots, including the lots at the housing complexes, must obtain a permit to park in the designated areas. The University Police Department implements and enforces the parking regulations. Payments are made in the Business Office.

Designated Tuition

Click  here  for information on current tuition and fees.

Undergraduate Student Tuition for 2012 – 2013

Click  here  for information on current tuition and fees.

Hope and Lifetime Learning Tax Credits

Go to http://www.ed.gov/offices/OPE/PPI/HOPE/index.html for information about Hope and Lifetime Learning tax credits. The Business Office mails out 1098-T forms to students by January 31st for the preceding calendar year.

Financial Assistance

Programs to assist students and parents in financing an education at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi are administered by the Office of Student Financial Assistance. Students may apply for financial assistance through scholarship, grant, work study, and loan programs.

Eligibility for the majority of financial aid programs is determined through a financial needs analysis. This analysis is made after the student completes and submits a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Before an undergraduate student can be considered for financial aid, he or she must:

  1. be officially admitted to the University;
  2. be working toward a degree and classified by the Office of Admissions as degree-seeking;
  3. be enrolled at least half-time (6 semester hours during a long semester or 3 hours during each summer term);
  4. meet the deadlines set by the Office of Student Financial Assistance;
  5. not be in default or owe a refund on any Title IV grant(s) or loan(s);
  6. provide proof of eligibility if not a citizen of the United States;
  7. provide documents that support information reported on applications for financial aid;
  8. meet minimum G.P.A. requirements of a 1.8 cumulative for freshman students (0-29 earned hours) or 2.0 for sophomores, juniors and seniors (30+ earned hours), and maintain satisfactory academic progress as required for financial aid eligibility to fulfill federal requirements.

Financial aid programs available to undergraduates include Federal Pell Grant, ACG (Academic Competitiveness Grant), SMART Grant (National Science and Mathematics Access to Retain Talent), Federal College Work Study, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, Texas Public Educational Grant (resident and nonresident), A&M-Corpus Christi Grant; TEXAS Grant; Texas Be on Time Loan, Federal Perkins Student Loan, Federal Loan programs, and various scholarships. Several grants and scholarships are offered through the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Federal Family Education Loans are distributed in two disbursements in accordance with Federal regulations. If the student is receiving a loan for one term, the first check will be disbursed at the beginning of the semester and the second after the midpoint of the semester. A loan that covers both fall and spring terms will result in a disbursement at the beginning of each semester. First year, first time borrowers will not receive their first loan disbursement until 30 days into the semester.

Most financial aid programs have a limited amount of funds, which must be granted on a first-completed, first-awarded basis. Therefore, students are strongly encouraged to have their financial aid files completed by February 15 for summer, by March 31 if applying for assistance for both fall and spring, or by November 1 if applying for assistance for spring only.

Application forms and detailed instructions on applying for financial aid are available through the Office of Student Financial Assistance and at the following web address: http://osfa.tamucc.edu.

Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy

The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, mandates that institutions of higher education establish policies to monitor the academic progress of students who apply for and/or receive federal financial assistance. Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi applies its minimum standards to all federal, state, and institutional financial aid programs in order to maintain a consistent policy for all financial aid applicants. Though this policy establishes the minimum standards for all financial aid programs at A&M-Corpus Christi, an individual aid program may have unique qualitative and/or quantitative standards specific to the program as mandated by law or the program’s governing entity. Examples include ACG Grant, SMART Grant, Texas Grant, Federal TEACH Grant, Texas Be On time Loans, Academic Scholarships, and Athletic Scholarships.

To be awarded or receive any financial aid, a student must be accepted to the University in good academic standing (i.e., no conditional admittance), be enrolled in credit courses leading toward a degree or teaching certificate, and maintain satisfactory academic progress in the course of study pursued. This policy is consistently applied to all enrollment periods regardless of whether or not the student received aid.

Minimum Standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress

At the end of each academic year (spring semester), students must show satisfactory progress toward a degree or certificate based on the following elements:

  1. Academic Standards
  2. Maximum Frame for Degree/Certificate Completion
  3. Successful Credit Hour Completion Rate

Academic Standards

Students must maintain the following cumulative grade point average to retain financial aid eligibility:

Undergraduate Students (0-29 earned hours) 1.8 Cumulative GPA
Undergraduate Students (30+ earned hours) 2.0 Cumulative GPA

Maximum Frame (Attempted Hours) for Degree/Certificate Completion

For financial assistance purposes, students will be limited to the following number of attempted hours to complete their degree or certification program:

Undergraduate Degree/Certification 186 attempted hours

Attempted hours include all transfer hours and all registered hours at A&M-Corpus Christi per semester whether or not the student earns a grade, receives credit, or received financial aid. The following are considered hours attempted, but not completed/earned:

  • Grades of F or NC
  • I or incomplete
  • W or withdrawal from courses

The following are considered hours attempted and successfully completed/earned:

Grades of A, B, C, D, CR, and IP

Successful Credit Hour Completion Rate

Students must successfully complete/earn a minimum of 67% of all attempted semester credit hours. Note: All partial credit hours will be rounded down to the nearest hour. Examples:

  1. If a student attempts (registers for) 24 credit hours in an academic year, the student must complete a minimum of 16 credit hours (24 x 67% = 16) in order to meet the requirements for satisfactory academic progress for the year.
  2. If at the end of the second year, a student has attempted 60 hours, the student must have completed a minimum of 40 credit hours (60 x 67% = 40) to meet the requirements for satisfactory academic progress.

Remedial Course Work

Students may receive financial assistance for remedial course work if acceptance to a program has been confirmed, and the remedial course work is necessary to complete the program. Students cannot receive financial assistance for remedial course work if their acceptance to a program is based on the completion of the remedial work. Remedial course work is limited to 24 semester hours

Review Policy

At the end of each spring semester, the Office of Student Financial Assistance will review the progress of each financial aid recipient to determine eligibility for aid consideration for the upcoming academic year.

Financial Assistance Suspension Policy

If it is determined that a student does not meet the minimum satisfactory academic progress requirements, he or she will automatically be placed on financial assistance suspension and will be notified accordingly. Students on financial aid suspension are not eligible for any type of federal, state, or institutional aid.

Note: Students on scholastic suspension/dismissal or enforced withdrawal will also be placed on financial assistance suspension.

Conditions for Reinstatement

Students may attend the next semester/term at A&M-Corpus Christi without financial aid to reinstate eligibility. If, at the end of the semester/term, the student again meets the minimum satisfactory academic progress standards, the student may submit a written request to the Office of Student Financial Assistance to have his or her application for aid reinstated for the next and subsequent semesters/terms of the current academic year. Continued eligibility for the next academic year will be determined again at the end of the spring semester during the regular review process.

Appeal Policy

Students who fail to maintain satisfactory progress due to extenuating circumstances may submit an application for appeal to be reviewed by the Aid Appeals Committee. To appeal for reinstatement of financial aid eligibility, students must complete and submit the Request for Appeal form to the Office of Student Financial Assistance. A completed appeal application includes a letter and supporting documentation providing a detailed explanation of the extenuating circumstances, such as personal injury or medical problems, illness or death of an immediate family member, etc. In addition, if a student has exceeded the maximum time frame and is appealing based on a change of major, he or she should state the reason for the change and indicate the number of hours remaining to be taken in the new major. The student’s academic advisor must complete the advisor section of the application.

If the appeal is approved by the Aid Appeals Committee, financial aid will be continued as if the student is otherwise eligible. If denied, the student may request a meeting with the appeals committee. If the outcome of the meeting does not result in an approval of the appeal, the student must reinstate eligibility according to actions outlined in the previous section.

The decision of the committee is final and may include additional conditions the student must meet as deemed appropriate by the committee. All students (approved or denied) will be reviewed again for continued eligibility at the end of the academic year during the regular review process.

Refund and Repayment Policies

Students who register and then withdraw from their classes at the University will have their aid recalculated based on the number of days they attended class. If a student withdraws from all classes prior to the first class day, he or she may be required to repay any and all financial aid received. Students should consult the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy to determine if their withdrawal will affect future aid eligibility.


Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi offers a variety of academic scholarships for incoming freshmen, current undergraduate, and transfer students. Current undergraduate and transfer students must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 to apply (unless otherwise noted) and plan to be at least a full-time student (12 hours per semester) if awarded.

Lists of scholarships available to students can be found in the scholarship office. The deadline to apply for undergraduate university scholarships is February 15. Applications will be reviewed and rated on the basis of GPA, transcript, community involvement, essay, resume, and other criteria. More information is available at scholarships.tamucc.edu/current.php.

The priority deadline for incoming freshmen for the next academic year is December 1. All applications received after this date will be awarded on a funds-available basis. Information on scholarships for incoming freshmen is available online at scholarships.tamucc.edu/freshmen.php. Scholarships are open to all incoming freshman students and are not restricted by college major. Decisions will be based on academic standing, class rank, test scores, and enrollment in AP classes.

A non-resident U.S. citizen or international student who is a recipient of a competitive University scholarship may be eligible for the Texas resident tuition rate. The student must have competed with other students, including Texas residents, for the scholarship. For additional information on scholarships, visit the University website for Scholarship Programs at scholarships.tamucc.edu/.

Emergency Loans

Short-term emergency loans are available to students who need assistance in covering tuition and fees and school-related expenses such as books. Detailed information regarding eligibility requirements and the application process can be found in the Business Office.

Veterans Educational Benefits

Veterans Affairs Office

The mission of the Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Veterans Affairs Office is to assist servicemembers, veterans, and dependents in receiving entitled educational benefits and in achieving educational goals. The Veterans Affairs Office strives to assist active duty servicemembers and veterans with the transition from military to academic life. For more information on educational programs and updates on the Post 9/11 Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2008, please call (361) 825-2331 or visit the web site http://vets.tamucc.edu.

Enrollment Certification

Certifications for veterans’ educational benefits are submitted to the Department of Veterans Affairs, Muskogee, OK. Please visit the Veterans Affairs Office for information on eligibility requirements, applications and forms, and updates on the following benefits:

  • Chapter 30 Montgomery GI Bill – Active Duty Educational Assistance Program
  • Chapter 1607 Reserve Educational Assistance Program (REAP)
  • Chapter 33 Post 9/11 Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2008
  • Chapter 1606 Montgomery GI Bill Selected Reserve
  • Chapter 31 Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment Program
  • Chapter 32 Post-Vietnam Era Veterans’ Educational Assistance Program (VEAP)
  • Chapter 35 Survivors’ and Dependents’ Educational Assistance Program

The applicant must provide a Certificate of Eligibility (COE) from the Dept. of Veterans Affairs showing the benefit has been awarded. A Veterans Intent to Enroll Form is required each term for certification and provides the VA Certifying Official with authorization to submit an enrollment certification on behalf of the student. Students must notify the Veterans Affairs Office of any enrollment changes, to include: added or dropped courses, withdrawals, or change of major. A degree plan from the academic advisor is required for the veteran’s file. Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi does not participate in the VA Advance Payment Program.

Hazlewood Exemption

In accordance with the Texas Education Code, Section 54.203, Texas veterans and eligible dependents must apply for benefits under the Hazlewood Act or the Hazlewood Legacy Act each term. An exemption of tuition and fees, with the exception of the student services fee, is granted per term for Hazlewood eligible students, up to 150 cumulative credit hours. Students must submit the application, an original, certified, or notarized copy of the veteran’s discharge papers (VA Form DD-214 member 4 copy), and other qualifying documentation, and a letter from the Muskogee, Oklahoma VA Regional Processing Office stating that they have exhausted federal veterans’ educational benefits. The Hazlewood file must be completed, and the exemption requested by the census date per term. The number of credit hours a student is registered for on the census date of a given term is the number of Hazlewood credit hours reported for the term to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Training Time

Training time for students receiving veterans’ educational assistance refers to enrollment status and is defined below. For information on enrollment status requirements for students receiving financial assistance, administered through the Office of Financial Assistance, please review that section of the catalog. The criteria for enrollment status of students receiving financial assistance and training time for Department of Veterans Affairs benefits may differ. Please contact the Veterans Affairs Office to determine training time criteria for the various summer terms.

Graduate Students

Full-time student: 9 hours or more in fall or spring term
  6 hours or more in combined summer terms
Three-quarter-time student:
7 to 8 hours in fall or spring term
Half-time student:
5 to 6 hours in fall or spring term
Less than half-time student: 4 hours or less in fall or spring term
  Reimbursement of tuition and fees only